Distinguished leaders get awards | JamiiForums | The Home of Great Thinkers

Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Distinguished leaders get awards

Discussion in 'Jukwaa la Siasa' started by nngu007, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. nngu007

    nngu007 JF-Expert Member

    Dec 10, 2011
    Joined: Aug 2, 2010
    Messages: 15,871
    Likes Received: 56
    Trophy Points: 145
    Published On: Fri, Dec 9th, 2011
    Tanzania |
    Published On: Fri, Dec 9th, 2011

    President Jakaya Kikwete on Friday presented medals and awards to a number of people for their distinguished contribution towards the attainment of independence as the nation celebrated 50 years.

    There were four categories of people who received the Uhuru medals that include former and present government employees, Members of Parliament and the army, among others.

    The first and most distinguished medal was awarded to the Father of the Nation and first President, the late Julius Kambarage Nyerere, who assisted in gaining independence from the British.

    Similar, prestigious medals went to other former presidents, Ali Hassan Mwinyi and Benjamin Mkapa for strengthening the economy.

    The second category was the Uhuru Torch Award that went to Dr Ally Mohamed Shein, Sheikh Abeid Karume, the late Rashidi Mfaume Kawawa, former Prime Minister Cleopa Msuya, Justice Joseph Warioba, Idris Abdul Wakil, Salim Ahmed Salim, Fredrick Sumaye, Dr Omar Ali Juma and Edward Moringe Sokoine.

    The third category included Chief of Defence Forces (CDF), General Davis Mwamunyange, Inspector General of Police (IGP) Said Mwema, and Commissioner of Prisons Agustino Nanyaro.

    Others are the Speaker of National Assembly Anne Makinda, retired Speaker Pius Msekwa, Justice Mark Bomani, retired General Mirisho Sarakikya, the late General Abdalah Twalipo, General David Musuguri, retired General Ernest Mwita Kyiaro, the late Lieutenant Colonel Alexander Nyerenda, Inspector General Msaingi Shaidi, Commissioner of Prisons
    Obedia Rugimbana, Dr Wilbert Chabula and Justice Julie Manning.

    The Uhuru Torch medal and the fourth category went in honour of those who assisted in the getting of independence and these included Omary Suleimani, Aisha Kanduru, Maria Nyerere, the late Sofia Kawawa, the late John Lupia, the late Abdul Sykes, Ally Sykes, Kingunge Ngombare-Mwiru and John Lusinde Malecela.

    Others are Ambassador George Kahama, Constatine Milinga, retired Brigadier Hashim Mbita, the late Rajabu Diwani, Captain Tony Makinda, the late Mendanusi Pacha, the late Buku Mussa.

    Others are Mama Mpera, Mosi Tambwe, Sued Kagasheki, the late Zaituni Matola, Merry Mkoko, the late Fatma Mwashambwa, Salum Bakari, Alhaji Mustafa Songambele, Andrew Mateso Ndimbo, Mwanabibi Forodhani, Rashid Liganga, Mustafa Mwangwenyuka and Omary Suleimani.

    Tanzania Daily News