Tanganyika manadated territory and mwalmus nationality | JamiiForums | The Home of Great Thinkers

Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Tanganyika manadated territory and mwalmus nationality

Discussion in 'Jukwaa la Siasa' started by Kasesela, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. K

    Kasesela Member

    Dec 8, 2011
    Joined: May 10, 2010
    Messages: 44
    Likes Received: 1
    Trophy Points: 0
    Protectoratesand protected states
    Protectorates and protected stateswere foreign territories to which British protection was extended in some form.
    Protected states were places inwhich:

    • there was a properly organised internal government; and
    • Britain controlled only the state's external affairs.
    Protectorates were protectedterritories in which:

    • there was no properly organised internal government; and
    • Britain not only controlled external matters, such as the protectorate's defence and foreign relations but also established an internal
    Britain's involvement inprotectorates was similar to its involvement in colonies but they did not havethe formal status of colonies.
    Protectoratesfrom 1949

    • Aden
    • Bechuanaland
    • British Solomon Islands
    • Gambia
    • Kamaran (added in 1954)
    • Kenya
    • Nigeria
    • Northern Rhodesia
    • Northern Territories of the Gold Coast
    • Nyasaland
    • Sierra Leone
    • Somaliland
    • Swaziland
    • Uganda
    • Zanzibar
    Protectedstates from 1949

    • Brunei
    • Canton Island
    • Fujairah (added in 1952)
    • The Malay States (Johore, Pahang, Negri Sembilan, Selangor, Perak, Kedah,
      Perlis, Kelantan, and Trengganu)
    • The Maldive Islands
    • The New Hebrides
    • The Persian Gulf States (Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, and the Trucial Sheikdoms of Oman (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dibai, Kalba, Ras al Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al Qaiwain))
    Mandatedterritories and trust territories
    A mandated territory was a territoryadministered by the government of any country in the former British Empire by amandate from the League of Nations (which later became the United Nations).They were created because, in the 1920 Treaty of Versailles, Germany renouncedits claims to its former colonies and, where those countries were unable tobecome independent, others took responsibility for their government. The UnitedKingdom, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa accepted these mandates.
    A trust territory was a territoryadministered by the government of any country in the former British Empireunder the trusteeship system of the United Nations. Most mandated territoriesbecame trust territories under the United Kingdom's Mandated and TrustTerritories Act 1947. The others became independent, apart from Palestine,which became part of the new state of Israel, and South West Africa, whichcontinued to be a mandated territory administered by South Africa.
    A UK mandated or trust territory wasone administered by the British Government. Non-UK mandated or trustterritories were administered by Australia, New Zealand, or South Africa.
    British nationality law differeddepending on whether a territory was a mandated or trust territory, and onwhether or not it was a UK mandated or trust territory. This affected, forexample, whether or not someone born there would be a British subject.
    UKmandated territories after 1920

    • Cameroons
    • Tanganyika
    • Togoland
    • Palestine
    • Transjordan
    • Iraq
    Non-UKmandated territories after 1920

    • Nauru (administered by Australia)
    • New Guinea (administered by Australia)
    • Solomon Islands (administered by Australia)
    • South West Africa (administered by South Africa)
    • Western Samoa (administered by New Zealand)
    UKtrust territories after 1949

    • Cameroons
    • Tanganyika
    • Togoland
    Non-UKtrust territories after 1949

    • Nauru (Australia)
    • New Guinea (Australia)
    • Solomon Islands (Australia)
    • Western Samoa (New Zealand)
    [h=2]Who is a British protected person? [/h][h=3]What does the term mean?[/h][h=3]The term started to be used in the second half of the19th century when Britain extended its protection to people and places outsidethe British Empire. The places given British protection were:[/h]
    • Protectorates;
    • Protected states;
    • Mandated territories; and
    • Trust territories. (See protectorates)
    People born in these countries became known as British protected personsand this gradually became a form of British nationality. Until 1949 the statuswas given by royal prerogative. In 1949 the status became a statutory one,granted according to defined rules and available only to people who had noother nationality or way of obtaining one.
    [h=3]Am I a British protected person?[/h]From 1 January 1983, the following categories of people became, or wereable to become, British protected persons:

    • citizens or nationals of Brunei under any law in Brunei that provided for citizenship or nationality (but this status was subsequently lost when Brunei became a fully sovereign state);
    • anyone who, immediately before 1 January 1983, was a British protected person; and
    • anyone who would otherwise be born stateless, on or after 1 January 1983, in the United Kingdom or an overseas territory if, at the time of their birth, their mother or father was a British protected person.
    In most cases, British protected persons lost that status when theygained any other nationality or citizenship, including British citizenship,British overseas territories citizenship or British Overseas citizenship.
    Also, in most cases, British protected persons lost that status when theterritory they were connected with became independent and they became a citizenof the newly independent country (whether at independence or later on).
    [h=3]What rights does a British protected person have?[/h]British protected persons have limited rights in terms of living and workingin the United Kingdom.

    • can hold a British passport in that status;
    • are regarded as British nationals; and
    • can receive consular assistance and protection from United Kingdom diplomatic posts.
    But they:

    • are subject to immigration controls and do not have any right to live or work in the United Kingdom without those controls;
    • are not able to vote in elections in the United Kingdom;
    • are not able to hold some public offices in the United Kingdom; and
    • nowadays are not considered to be United Kingdom nationals by the European Community.

    In that context, all peopes of Manadated and later Trust Territory of Tanganyika were Protected People and British Nationals, this ceased automatically in 1961