I regret to come to The USA

joseph2

May 31, 2015
Hello everyone on this platform. Without wasting your time, let me tell you my story. The reason I want to tell you my story for free is because I think it can help someone who's planning to leave their country for greener pastures abroad.

I know many African youngsters are ready to risk everything, including their lives, for a chance to get into any European country or North America. I don't blame them because twenty years ago, I was just like them. And I understand; it's not easy to live in corrupt and nondemocratic countries. Anyway, let's leave the discussion of democratic and nondemocratic to the scholars.

I am here to tell my story. First, let me introduce myself briefly. I was born in western Tanzania, in Kagera Regional, Ngara District. My parents had twelve children. I am the eleventh child. My dad was an elementary teacher, and my mother was a nurse by profession. I say "by profession" because after she married my dad, she had to quit her job to take care of us and work on the farm to ensure we had enough to eat. To make a long story short, my dad retired from teaching in 1984.

By that time, my ten older siblings had finished schooling. My younger sister and I were the only ones still in school. My younger sister was in preschool, and I was in first grade. I completed standard seven in 1992. Because my dad was a retired teacher, his pension was Tsh 500 a month. Since I wasn't selected to continue with secondary school, my dad didn't bother to send me to a private secondary school like he did with my other siblings.