Airtel aka hewatel acheni wizi....

Easymutant

R I P
Jun 3, 2010
This was an article in the Arusha Times regarding possible fraud against AIRTEL prepaid internet users:

Dear Editor,

I decided to write the Arusha Times today because after months of working with Airtel to fix a serious issue that affects prepaid internet users, I was finally told the truth today. That truth? "NO.
Now go away"

I am a very experienced network engineer & security auditor from the US with 26 years of IT work under my belt. After moving here to do volunteer flight medical work, I bought an Airtel modem and subscribed to the 3GB/Week plan. Being a computer geek, I use A LOT of bandwidth.
So I finish 3GB quickly, and then recharge and do it again. I quickly realized however, that it was cutting out before using the full 3GB I paid for. Having the access, I installed professional grade network monitoring software to see what was happening. I did this on several computers, with several SIM cards. What I found was that the service would cut off after only 1.5GB of usage, or 2.3GB, or only 1GB.. etc, randomly. I would check my account balance and Airtel would respond that I had used 3GB of data.

I brought this to the representatives at the Clock tower office. It didn't take them long to get a response from their technical staff that yes, they could see this happening, and that I wasn't the only one to report it recently. By the time of writing this article, I have lost (pro-rated) 130,000 TSH from this. All the while being assured that I would be refunded and that this issue would be fixed. For FOUR months I was strung along, always being told it would happen soon.
Finally today, I demanded that the refund be issued, and that I be given contact information for someone up the corporate ladder to speak to. I was told that they aren't authorized to give this information.