I am Pregnant with my lecturer’s baby

Shadow

JF-Expert Member
May 19, 2008

kuteleza si kuanguka, jikung'uke na usimame imara.

I am Pregnant with my lecturer’s baby

Published on 13/06/2010
Q: My name is Pauline and I am a college student. I had an affair with one of my lecturers who promised to marry me. Little did I know he was also having an affair with a classmate.

He is the Head of Department and I’ve been failing in all my exams and CATs since I told him I’m expecting his child. He’s been pushing me to drop out of school to avoid ruining his name because he is married.
I realised that my classmate is also pregnant with his baby and suffering the same fate. I’m torn between abortion and suing him. What should I do?
A: Pauline, we shall seek to address your queries on both the abortion and on the possibility of suing your lecturer.
The question of abortion is a thorny one given that abortion is outlawed under the provisions of the Penal Code Act. The act of procuring an abortion amounts to a criminal offence punishable by law where one is found guilty of committing this offence.
You intend to sue the child’s father but you have not stated what action you will be seeking. Given your circumstances, a possible action would be filing a suit in the children’s court once the child is born and seek the court’s order for child custody and maintenance of the child pursuant to the provisions of the Children’s Act.
Child maintenance
The Court Order, if obtained, shall require the lecturer to provide support towards the child’s maintenance. The court will not order full support from the father as it is understood the mother of the child must also contribute towards maintenance of the child.
A court order is sought by filing a case in the children’s court where you will have to provide evidence that the lecturer is indeed the father — and he will be allowed an opportunity to defend himself.