Makerere phases out 80 departments


JF-Expert Member
Nov 22, 2007

Makerere University has phased out 80 departments following its move to become a collegiate institution next academic year. The 88-year-old institution had 22 faculties, schools and institutes but will now operate under eight colleges and two schools after the University Council approved the recommendations last month.

Mr James Okello, the deputy academic registrar in-charge of Senate, yesterday said the current structure is overloaded and the new development will help fight red tape, reduce duplication of roles and optimise the available resources.

“You find some course is offered in many units which requires recruitment of staff in each unit. If the university can go collegiate, these resources can be shared,” Mr Okello told journalists.

According to Mr Okello, the colleges will be self-governing, regulating, accounting and encourage initiatives without the interference of the vice-chancellor. Thirteen departments under the faculties of Agriculture, Forestry and Nature Conservation, Arts and Institute of Environment, have been merged to form College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

The faculties of Arts, Social Sciences, Institute of Psychology and Institute of Social Research have had their 16 departments combined to create the College of Humanities while seven departments were combined to form College of Computing and Information Sciences.

The College of Business and Management Sciences saw eight departments merged, College of Health sciences (26) while College of Education and External Studies, College of Natural Sciences and College of Engineering, Design and Technology has each had nine departments merged. Eight departments were merged to form the School of Veterinary Medicine and four to create the School of Law.


JF-Expert Member
Aug 21, 2008
Hivi hapo Makerere bado wa-offer kiwango cha elimu ya "certificates/diplomas" katika fani yoyote?

Toa taarifa ya maudhui yasiyofaa!

Kuna taarifa umeiona humu JamiiForums na haifai kubaki mtandaoni?
Fanya hivi...

Umesahau Password au akaunti yako?

Unapata ugumu kuikumbuka akaunti yako? Unakwama kuanzisha akaunti?
Contact us

Top Bottom