Land 'Not Part of East Africa Integration' | JamiiForums | The Home of Great Thinkers

Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Land 'Not Part of East Africa Integration'

Discussion in 'Jukwaa la Siasa' started by R.B, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. R.B

    R.B JF-Expert Member

    Sep 3, 2012
    Joined: May 10, 2012
    Messages: 6,166
    Likes Received: 1,101
    Trophy Points: 280
    AS the session of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) resumes on Monday in Kenya's capital city of Nairobi, Tanzania, has reiterated that the land issue will never be part of the integration.
    The EALA-Tanzania Chapter Chairman, Mr Adam Kimbisa, told journalists in Dar es Salaam that the two weeks' session would receive reports from different EALA parliamentary committees for debating.
    "Land will remain to be owned by Tanzanians themselves by 100 per cent. We will do our best to protect the national interests," he said. Alhaj Kimbisa said that despite the different political ideologies of the country's EALA representatives they still enjoy unity thus representing the country with one voice in the EALA sessions.
    He said that the session resumes after the first one which took place in Arusha which also witnessed the formation of different EALA-committees. He added that the EALA representatives also attended a workshop on the responsibility of EALA members.
    Alhaj Kimbisa urged the cooperation from the government and the people to effectively represent the country in the EALA.
    "I call upon the Ministry of East Africa and the public to help us with their views and suggestions in order to beat the challenges of the EAC integration," he said. According to the EALA-Tanzania Chapter Secretary, Ms Shy-Rose Bhanji, the leadership committee of the EALA comprises two country's representatives from each member state formed different EALA committees when they met in Arusha.
    She said Tanzania in the EALA leadership committee is represented by her and Alhaj Adam Kimbisa. The member states of the EAC comprised of five countries which are Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi. Mr Abdulah Mwinyi, who is one the country's EALA representatives, denied allegations that construction of Taveta airport in the southern part of Kenya aimed to seize opportunity enjoyed by the Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA) in Tanzania.
    "The Taveta airport is constructed according to the new Kenyan constitution which guides every county to have one airport. The new airport will not be the threat to the KIA since it is not the international airport," he said. The country's EALA representatives are Makongoro Nyerere, Angela Kizigha, Abdullah Mwinyi, Twaha Taslima, Shy-Rose Bhanji, Nderakindo Kessy, Bernard Musomi Murunya, Ms Maryam Yahya Ussi and Mr Kimbisa.