CAF Awards 2008 | JamiiForums | The Home of Great Thinkers

Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

CAF Awards 2008

Discussion in 'Sports' started by Baba Mkubwa, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. B

    Baba Mkubwa JF-Expert Member

    Feb 10, 2009
    Joined: Oct 18, 2008
    Messages: 770
    Likes Received: 5
    Trophy Points: 35
    Ni nani atachukuwa mwaka huu?
  2. B

    Baba Mkubwa JF-Expert Member

    Feb 11, 2009
    Joined: Oct 18, 2008
    Messages: 770
    Likes Received: 5
    Trophy Points: 35
    Adebayor wins Africa Player of the Year

    Emmanuel Sheyi Adebayor has made history by becoming the first Togolese to be crowned African Footballer of the Year.
    The Arsenal striker was named the Glo-CAF Player of the Year 2008 at the Awards Gala on Tuesday night in Lagos, Nigeria.

    Adebayor, who celebrates his 25th birthday on February 26, beat Egypt and Al-Ahly midfielder Mohamed Aboutreika and Ghana midfielder Michael Essien to claim the prestigious individual honour in African football.

    Dressed in a local Nigerian wear, Adebayor walked to the dais to receive the award from CAF President Issa Hayatou who was ably supported by FIFA President, Sepp Blatter amidst cheers from the packed hall.

    The Togolese dedicated the award to his mother, who he said has been the main pillar behind his success.

    "I dedicate this award to my mother, who has supported me all my life. Unfortunately my father is not around (dead), but I believe wherever he is he must be proud of his son."
    The coronation of Adebayor was the climax of the ceremony dominated by Egyptian winners.
    Six-times Africa club champions, Al-Ahly won honours in three categories with midfield supreme Aboutreika leading the pack with the Inter-Clubs player of the Year.

    Ahly was also voted the best club as well as their fans, the Supporters Club of the Year (Club division).
    The Egyptian national team, Pharaohs, claimed the National team of the Year whilst tactician Hassan Shehata picked the Coach of the Year prize.

    Cote d'Ivoire forward Salomon kalou grabbed the Young Player of the Year award and the national team, the Fair Play honour, with South Africa's Alice Mattlou netting the Women's Footballer of the Year award.

    Nigeria took consolation in the Best Supporters Club in the national team category.

    ASEC Mimosas President, Roger Ouegnin was presented with the Merit Order of Achievement for his contribution to the development of youth football on the continent.

    Former CAF Executive Committee members, Farah Addo of Somalia and Nigerian Oyo Orok Oyo Etubom, who both died last year also received the Merit Order of Achievement award.

    Nigeria President, Umar Musa Yar'Adua was also presented with the Platinum Award.