AGOA-Its accomplishments,Failures and the Reasons. | JamiiForums | The Home of Great Thinkers

Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

AGOA-Its accomplishments,Failures and the Reasons.

Discussion in 'Habari na Hoja mchanganyiko' started by jmushi1, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. j

    jmushi1 JF-Expert Member

    Jul 24, 2008
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Messages: 16,227
    Likes Received: 189
    Trophy Points: 160
    Ninajitahidi ili niweze kuleta linki ya maelezo ya mpango wa AGOA-African Growth Opportunity Act ambayo ilisainiwa toka enzi za Clinton na bado wananchi hawaja wezeshwa kuitumia bahati hiyo.
    Ni muhimu basi tujadili hili kwani ni mamilioni ya dola yanayopotea kwasbabu viongozi wako busy kuuza nchi.
    Huwa kunakuwepo ripoti za AGOA kila mwaka..Na hivyo tunasubiri pia kuona ya mwak 2008 ili kuweza kuona kama serikali yetu imefanya nini.

    II. Executive Summary
    The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) provides duty-free access to the U.S.
    market for substantially all products exported from 38 eligible sub-Saharan African
    countries.1 AGOA amends the U.S. Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) statute
    with respect to AGOA-eligible beneficiaries by extending duty-free treatment until 2015
    and expanding GSP product coverage (about 4,600 products) by more than 1,800
    additional tariff lines. AGOA also exempts beneficiary countries from GSP competitive
    need limitations. In 2006, over 98 percent of U.S. imports from AGOA-eligible countries
    entered the United States duty-free.
    AGOA is the cornerstone of the Administration’s trade and investment policy toward
    sub-Saharan Africa, aimed at promoting free markets, expanding U.S.-African trade and
    investment, stimulating economic growth, and facilitating sub-Saharan Africa’s
    integration into the global economy. The Administration continues to consult closely
    with Congress on African trade and investment policy, building on the bipartisan
    Congressional support for AGOA, and the partnership between the Executive Branch and
    Congress on enhancing U.S.-Africa trade and investment.
    On December 20, 2006, President Bush signed the Africa Investment Incentive Act
    (AGOA IV). AGOA IV enhances AGOA trade benefits for eligible sub-Saharan African
    countries and strengthens economic engagement between the United States and sub-
    Saharan Africa. AGOA IV extends the third-country fabric provision, adds an abundant
    supply provision, designates certain denim articles as being in abundant supply, and
    provides duty-free treatment for certain textile and textile articles (non-apparel) imported
    from lesser-developed AGOA beneficiary countries.
    AGOA continued to support the efforts of sub-Saharan African countries undertaking
    difficult economic, political, and social reforms and provided incentives for countries
    considering such reforms. The United States maintained an ongoing dialogue with sub-
    Saharan African countries on topics related to the AGOA eligibility criteria and
    continued to encourage progress in those countries not yet eligible for AGOA. On
    January 1, 2007, following the annual AGOA-eligibility review, a new beneficiary
    country – Liberia – was added to the list of AGOA-eligible countries, bringing the total to
    38. As of April 2007, 26 countries are eligible to receive AGOA apparel benefits.2

    Seventeen of these countries
    3 also qualify for AGOA’s provisions for handloomed and


    The 38 AGOA beneficiary countries are Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Burundi, Cameroon;

    Cape Verde; Chad; Republic of Congo; Democratic Republic of Congo; Djibouti; Ethiopia; Gabon; The
    Gambia; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Lesotho; Liberia; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritius;
    Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; São Tomé and Príncipe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra
    Leone; South Africa; Swaziland; Tanzania; Uganda; and Zambia.

    The 26 countries eligible to receive AGOA apparel benefits are Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso;

    Cameroon; Cape Verde; Chad; Ethiopia; Ghana; Kenya; Lesotho; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritius;
    Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; Senegal; Sierra Leone; South Africa; Swaziland;
    Tanzania; Uganda; and Zambia.

    The seventeen countries are: Kenya, Lesotho, Botswana, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Namibia, Ghana,
    Mozambique, Senegal, Ethiopia, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania and Zambia.