Tanzanian Success Story, Only in America

PERERE

Feb 5, 2011
Surprise six-figure salaries - Spends 16 hours a day washing windows (6) - CNNMoney

Spends 16 hours a day washing windows
6 of 10

alexander-tzamburakis.jpg

Name: Alexander Tzamburakis
Job: Window washer
Salary: $125,000
Hometown: Chicago, Ill.

I moved to the United States from Tanzania on a scholarship to the University of Chicago. I studied economics and did really well, so I worked in banking for a while when I finished school. But then my visa expired and I couldn't get it extended. No one would hire me -- it didn't matter how capable I was.
So one day, I was walking around the city trying to think of jobs I might be able to do, and I saw windows all over the place -- and I said `That's it! I'll be a window washer.' So that's what I did. It doesn't matter if you have visa, as long as you have a Social Security number and pay taxes.
I now work as a contractor and bid on window-washing jobs. Most of them are at grocery stores, and some are at car part stores. The summer is the busiest time, and I work around 16 hours a day. It's tiring, but I'm happy with the salary. It lets me support my family.

Uwongo tu. There's no way you can get that much dough simply cleaning windows, even if you made your living working on skyscrapers in Manhattan or Chicago.

hata sielewi huyu mtoa mada anataka kutuambia nini, tuhamie marekeni kuwa window washers ama nini? au tumsifie kwamba amefanikiwa ama tumuone mjasiriamali? its confusing atusamehe sijui kwa kweli tunatakiwa tuone nini katika hii habari inayoonekana ya uongo mkubwa na kutupumbaza akili. kwa hiyo hana visa lakini ana social security kwa hiyo mambo poa tu, haki ya mungu iko kazi pasipo kutengeneza na ku promote vigezo vya mafanikio na values kwa watanzania tutazidi kushangaa mpaka tukome.

You got to be kidding me!!!