Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Second HD Installation Problem.....

Discussion in 'Tech, Gadgets & Science Forum' started by Mwazange, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #1
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Wakulu kuna kitu hii imenikuta......Ninajaribu kuongeza HD kwenye mashine na kila nikiiboot napata error ifuatayo..."Drive 1 not found: serial ATA, SATA-1 strike F1 to continue, , F2 to rn the setup utility" Nimejaribu kila njia lakini naona inanizidi maarifa.....Msaaada tafadhali....
    Aksanteni!!
     
  2. Kang

    Kang JF-Expert Member

    #2
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Jun 24, 2008
    Messages: 4,698
    Likes Received: 203
    Trophy Points: 160
    Details kamanda! Unajaribi kuinstall harddrive ya aina gani?(SATA,IDE) unajaribu kuiinstall kwenye motherboad gani? etc.
     
  3. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #3
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Oooh sorry kamanda....najaribu kuongeza SATA kwenye dell Optiplex gx620....Kama una cha zaidi unahitaji niambie tu mkulu......
     
  4. MziziMkavu

    MziziMkavu JF-Expert Member

    #4
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 38,509
    Likes Received: 2,781
    Trophy Points: 280
    Drive 1 is your secondary hard drive. It is probably still enabled in BIOS.

    There might be other BIOS options. For example, you may have to autodetect the Master Primary hard drive (drive 0) as wells as the Slave drive (drive 1) and it will find none. Go to your Boot Order options and make sure SATA is selected and not the IDE drives. You should be ok after that.

    To boot a computer the BIOS must find a boot device. By default, this should be the hard drive that you have windows installed on. The BIOS can't seem to find any of your disks or drives; you seem to have three of them there, so the computer will not boot. When you turn it on, does the CD/DVD drive light up? Can you open the drive? If it can open, open your BIOS and try to find a "Boot Device" section to set the optical drive (your CD/DVD ROM drive) as the main boot device, then put your Windows install disc in and boot from disc. It will give you a message that says "Press any key to boot from disk." From there you can try to repair Windows just in case this is a driver issue and not a hardware failure issue.

    If it's receiving power but not data you'll need to open your computer and make sure the SATA/PATA connections haven't been loosened. Since this is a Dell, you'll void your warranty on the computer by opening it. What I really think happened is your hard disks have crashed or the IDE and SATA ports have both failed on your motherboard.
     
  5. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #5
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    HD ambayo ina windows OS inafanya kazi kama kawaida...ninachojaribu kufanya ni kuongeza another HD. Tatizo haionekane kwenye 'My Computer' hata kwenye 'Device manager'. Sasa sijui tatizo nini hapo....
     
  6. MziziMkavu

    MziziMkavu JF-Expert Member

    #6
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 38,509
    Likes Received: 2,781
    Trophy Points: 280
    Haya Fuatilia hiii Mwanzanke
    How to Set BIOS to Boot from CDROM: Bonyeza Hapa http://www.hiren.info/pages/bios-boot-cdrom
    All modern Computer Systems manufactured in the last years, support boot from cd feature, but it may be required to configure this feature in bios or previous owner of your computer system may have disabled this feature or may have changed the boot priority sequence )​
    When you start your computer, check the boot-screen for setup key, In most newer pc it will be DELETE key, so make sure to check it.​
    This AmiBios Require you to press DEL key to enter setup​
    AMIBIOS(C)2006 American Megatrends, Inc.
    BIOS Date: 03/02/06 20:15:54 Ver: 09.00.07

    Press DEL to run Setup

    Checking NVRAM..
    now you will see some similar screen and choose the BOOT option and choose Boot Device Priority and choose first boot device to CDROM and second boot device to HARD DRIVE You can press F10 to save settings.​
    BIOS SETUP UTILITY​
    Main Advanced Power Boot Security Exit​

    ► Boot-Time Diagnostic Screen: [Enabled]
    ► QuickBoot Mode: [Enabled]
    ► Scan User Flash Area: [Disabled]
    ► Boot-Time Diagnostic Screen: [Enable]
    ► After Power Failure: [Last State]
    ► On Modem Ring: [Power On]
    ► On LAN: [Power On]
    ► Boot Device Priority

    1st Boot Device [CDROM]
    2nd Boot Device [Hard Drive]

    ► Hard Disk Drives
    ► Floppy Drives
    ► CDROM Drives


    Specifies the boot sequence from the available devices
    + - Change Option
    F1 General Help
    F10 Save and Exit


    (c)Copyright 1985-2006, American Megatrends, Inc.
    On Award Bios you will see some similar screen and choose the right key to Enter setup ​
    Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG, An Energy Star Ally
    Copyright (C) 1984-98, Award Software, Inc.

    ASUS P2B-DS ACPI BIOS Revision 1012B

    Pentium III 650Mhz Processor
    Memory Test : 262144K OK










    Press DEL to run Setup
    08/05/00-i440BX-P2B-DS
    Now choose Advanced Bios Features​
    Phoenix - AwardBIOS CMOS Setup Utility
    > Standard CMOS Features > Advanced BIOS Features
    > Advanced Chipset Features
    > Integrated Peripherals
    > Power Management Setup
    > PnP/PCI Configurations
    > PC Health Status

    Frequency/Voltage Control Load Fail-Safe Defaults
    Load Optimized Defaults
    Set Supervisor Password
    Set User Password
    Save & Exit Setup
    Exit Without Saving
    Esc : Quit
    F10 : Save & Exit Setup​
    Virus Protection, Boot Sequence...
    and set First Boot Device to CDROM and Second or third to HDD-0 and Press F10 to save it. ​
    Phoenix - AwardBIOS CMOS Setup Utility
    Virus Warning
    CPU Internal Cache
    External Cache
    CPU L2 Cache ECC Checking
    Processor Number Feature
    Quick Power On Self Test
    First Boot Device
    Second Boot Device
    Third Boot Device
    Boot Other Device
    Swap Floppy Drive
    Boot Up NumLock Status
    Gate A20 Option
    Ata 66/100 IDE Cable Msg.
    Typematic Rate Setting
    Security Option
    OS Select For DRAM > 64MB ​
    [Disabled]
    [Enabled]
    [Enabled]
    [Enabled]
    [Enabled]
    [Enabled]
    [CDROM]
    [Floppy]
    [HDD-0]
    [Enabled]
    [Disabled]
    [On]
    [Fast]
    [Enabled]
    [Disabled]
    [Setup]
    [Non-OS2]

    Item Help


    Select Your Boot
    Device Priority
    Esc : Quit
    F10 : Save & Exit Setup​
    Virus Protection, Boot Sequence...
    On some Dell Systems you can enter bios by pressing F2​
    F2 = Setup
    F12 = Boot Menu



    w w w . d e l l . c o m

    Dimension 8100
    BIOS Revision XP2


    Now choose Boot Sequence and then arrance 1 to CD-Rom by pressing - + and press space to enable it
    Press ESC and choose save settings and exit ​
    Dell - Dimension 8100 Intel Pentium 4 Processor: 1.30 Ghz
    LEVEL 2 Cache: 256 KB Integrated
    System Time ...................
    System Date ...................Primary Drive 0 ...............
    Primary Drive 1 ...............
    Secondary Drive 0 .............
    Secondary Drive 1 .............
    Boot Sequence .................
    * 1. IDE CD-ROM Device
    * 2. Hard-Disk Drive C:

    SPACE to enable/disable | +,- to move down/up
    System Memory .................
    AGP Aperture ..................
    CPU Information ...............



    Up/Down to Select | SPACE +,- to Change | ESC to Exit
    On some Dell Systems you can enter bios by pressing F2​

    Boot Device Menu
    ‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗

    1. Normal
    2. Diskette Drive
    3. Hard-Disk Drive C:
    4. IDE CD-ROM Device Enter a choice: 1

    Sometimes you can press F12 to temporary boot from cd on some Dell Systems
    PhoenixBIOS 4.0 Release 6.0
    Copyright 1985-1999 Phoenix Technologies Ltd.
    All Rights Reserved
    Copyright 1996-1999 Intel Corporation.
    4S4EB2X0.05A.0009.P08

    Micron Electronics, Inc.

    Intel(R) Pentium(R) III processor 450 Mhz
    640K System RAM Passed
    255M Extended RAM Passed
    512K Cache SRAM Passed







    Press F2 to Enter Setup
    Press F2 to enter bios setup​
    ROM PCI/ISO BIOS (P2B-DS)
    CMOS SETUP UTILITY, AWARD SOFTWARE, INC.
    STANDARD CMOS SETUP BIOS FEATURES SETUP
    CHIPSET FEATURES SETUP
    POWER MANAGEMENT SETUP
    PNP AND PCI SETUP
    LOAD BIOS DEFAULTS
    LOAD SETUP DEFAULTS

    SUPERVISOR PASSWORD USER PASSWORD
    IDE HDD AUTO DETECTION
    SAVE & EXIT SETUP
    EXIT WITHOUT SAVING


    Esc : Quit Shift(F2) : Change Color
    F10 : Save & Exit Setup​
    Boot Sequence, Boot Virus Protection, CPU Speed...
    and set Boot Sequence to A,CDROM,C and Press Esc and then F10 to save it. ​
    ROM PCI/ISO BIOS (P2B-DS)
    CMOS SETUP UTILITY, AWARD SOFTWARE, INC.
    CPU Internal Core Speed
    Boot Virus Detection
    Processor Serial Number
    CPU Level 1 Cache
    CPU Level 2 Cache
    CPU Level 2 Cache ECC Check
    BIOS Update
    Quick Power On Self Test
    HDD Sequence SCSI/IDE First
    Boot Sequence
    Boot Up Floppy Seek
    Floppy Disk Access Control
    IDE HDD Block Mode Sectors
    HDD S.M.A.R.T. capability
    PS/2 Mouse Function Control
    OS/2 Onboard Memory > 64M
    MPS 1.4 Support ​
    650Mhz
    Enabled
    Disabled
    Enabled
    Enabled
    Disabled
    Enabled
    Enabled
    IDE
    A,CDROM,C
    Disabled]
    R/W
    HDD MAX
    Disabled
    Auto
    Disabled
    Disabled

    Item Help:


    Select Your Boot
    Sequence
    Esc : Quit
    F10 : Save & Exit Setup​
    Some Computer has Option to temporary boot from Cd/Hdd/Floppy/Usb Device, Just keep tapping the F8 button to get Boot Menu and Now choose your manufacture of CDRom. ​




     
  7. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #7
    Jun 21, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Naona tunapishana lugha, halafu font color pia mtihani mkuu....tatizo langu sio kuboot ili kuinstall OS, hilo sio tatizo langu. tatizo langu ni kuongeza HD na kuifanya kama storage mheshimiwa....
     
  8. MziziMkavu

    MziziMkavu JF-Expert Member

    #8
    Jun 22, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 38,509
    Likes Received: 2,781
    Trophy Points: 280
  9. MziziMkavu

    MziziMkavu JF-Expert Member

    #9
    Jun 22, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 38,509
    Likes Received: 2,781
    Trophy Points: 280
  10. K

    Kampton Member

    #10
    Jun 22, 2009
    Joined: Apr 6, 2009
    Messages: 22
    Likes Received: 0
    Trophy Points: 0
    kwanza kabisa hakikisha hdd yako inayoweka ni jumper yake ipo kwenye sehemu ya slave au ikiwezekana itoe kabisa ndipo uiweke na pia uhakikishe kuwa data cable zote na power ya kwenye hdd imeikonect kama ile iliyo kama master pia hakikisha hiyo iliyo na os jumper yake ipo kwenye master.
     
  11. Abdulhalim

    Abdulhalim JF-Expert Member

    #11
    Jun 22, 2009
    Joined: Jul 20, 2007
    Messages: 16,463
    Likes Received: 16
    Trophy Points: 135
    Hiyo post #6 hapo vp tena? tunaumizana macho au?
     
  12. Kang

    Kang JF-Expert Member

    #12
    Jun 22, 2009
    Joined: Jun 24, 2008
    Messages: 4,698
    Likes Received: 203
    Trophy Points: 160

    Washa compyuta
    Dell Logo ikitokea bonyeza F2 kuingia setup(BIOS)
    Tafuta sehemu ya Drives, kisha tafuta option ya Auto Detect(Or similar).
     
  13. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #13
    Jun 24, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Mkuu SATA walishaondoka kwenye age ya jumpers za master na slave kitambo tu.....
     
  14. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #14
    Jun 24, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    OK...Ngoja nifanye hivyo then nitarudi kukuambia....au sema whats next after that....
     
  15. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #15
    Jun 24, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Nilimwambia mkuu...wengine macho yetu kusoma kala zile ni mtihani.....
     
  16. MziziMkavu

    MziziMkavu JF-Expert Member

    #16
    Jun 24, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 38,509
    Likes Received: 2,781
    Trophy Points: 280
  17. Kang

    Kang JF-Expert Member

    #17
    Jun 24, 2009
    Joined: Jun 24, 2008
    Messages: 4,698
    Likes Received: 203
    Trophy Points: 160
    That should be it.
     
  18. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #18
    Jul 15, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Wakulu just an update...nimeweza kulitatua tatizo langu...ilibidi niivunjie shughuli na kuitengea muda. Baada ya kuzunguka huku na kule nimeweza kupata update driver moja nikaistall then imekubali...sasa naweza kuiona kwenye BIOS na inaonekana kwenye 'my computer' kwa hiyo case resolved. Ahsanteni wote kwa miushauri yenu....
     
  19. JosM

    JosM JF-Expert Member

    #19
    Jul 15, 2009
    Joined: Oct 11, 2008
    Messages: 685
    Likes Received: 1
    Trophy Points: 0
    Hongera sana ndugu,unaweza kutueleza ni njia ngani ulizotumia,na ni driver ipi uli-install.hii itatusaidia na wengine kama tukikumbana na tatizo kama hilo.
     
  20. Mwazange

    Mwazange JF-Expert Member

    #20
    Jul 16, 2009
    Joined: Nov 16, 2007
    Messages: 1,044
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 135
    Nimepata maelekezo kutoka hapa. Nina imani itasaidia kwa wengine. tatizo ilikuwa ni kuongeza driver kwenye matherboard ambayo inapatana na HD niliyoiongeza.
     
Loading...