Money Lessons We Should Have Learned

KWI KWI

JF-Expert Member
Mar 31, 2011
Over the years, I traded school lunch for CDs, birthday money for movie tickets, and even college textbook money for new boots. The exchange value of money, as I like to call it, grew larger and grander as I moved into my early 20's. I likely "exchanged" thousands of dollars before I graduated college, yet still hadn't learned how to manage my finances. By the time I got my first job, I spent more on food and happy hour than on rent and found myself in serious credit card debt. Obviously, I still didn't have a clue about money management.
As children we learn to spend and as adults we learn to save. Along the way, did we ever learn how to manage our day-to-day personal finances? Unfortunately, for most of us the answer is no.
Luckily, I'm older, wiser, and in less debt, and in the spirit of good karma, I'm sharing the five money lessons I wish I knew -- and we all should've learned -- growing up:
1) Know what you can afford. Being realistic about what you can afford is hard to live by daily. Really consider what it means to have a lifestyle your salary can support, without living paycheck to paycheck or having to choose groceries over the car payment. Shopping for my first car, I wanted a new Mini Cooper; instead, I bought a used Honda Civic. Sure I could have gotten the Mini, but that would have meant I'd have to regress to the college diet of Easy Mac and cereal.