Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Kunguru ni Halal?? Pig hajawa hajakatazwa in the Koran

Discussion in 'JF Chit-Chat' started by Duduwasha, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Duduwasha

    Duduwasha JF-Expert Member

    Jan 27, 2012
    Joined: Nov 3, 2010
    Messages: 2,954
    Likes Received: 136
    Trophy Points: 160
    Halal means ‘permissible’ in Arabic. So, Muslims cannot eat foods that are not ‘Halal’.
    Similar to Jewish Kosher laws, Muslims cannot eat any pork or pig meat. The Qur’an does not state why pig-meat is restricted, but some believe that it is because pigs are considered unclean.
    Also, like Kosher, an animal must be slaughtered while it is still alive. This method of slaughtering is called ‘Dhabiha’; it ensures that no blood is left in the meat before it is eaten. Because of this some Muslims choose only to eat meat that comes from a Muslim butcher.
    Also, under Halal, Muslims cannot consume any alcohol, even if it was used to prepare food.
    This is the most common understanding of Halal, and Muslims can eat anything except for these few restricted foods.

    [​IMG] Kula huyu kama hujafa! nduguyake magpies

    Below are the basic principles of permissibility and impermissibility in the Hanafi School with regards to animal consumption, as mentioned in the classical books of Hanafi jurisprudence. (Culled from: al-Fatawa al-Hindiyya, 5/289-291, Bada’i al-Sana’i, 5/35-39 and Radd al-Muhtar, 304-308)

    9) The ninth principle is that birds who do not hunt with their claws and do not prey on other animals, rather they merely eat grains and crop, are all considered Halal, such as a chicken, duck, pigeon, dove, sparrow, crow, etc.

    Sayyiduna Abu Musa al-Ash’ari (Allah be pleased with him) says: “I saw the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) consuming (the meat of) chicken.” (Sahih al-Bukhari, no: 5198)