Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

I have a problem of installing a Linux on Dell Optiplex 760

Discussion in 'Tech, Gadgets & Science Forum' started by Freddy81, May 8, 2009.

  1. Freddy81

    Freddy81 Member

    #1
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 99
    Likes Received: 0
    Trophy Points: 33
    I have a problem of installing a Linux in Dell optiplex 760.. it tell me "Unable to find any devices of the type needed for this installation type" i am using RED HAT Enterprise 4 CDs. Actualy i didn't face the same scenario before. Please help now!!!!
     
  2. Akili Unazo!

    Akili Unazo! JF-Expert Member

    #2
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Feb 18, 2009
    Messages: 1,235
    Likes Received: 11
    Trophy Points: 135
    Have you consulted your senior staffs at your office or you are the one????
     
  3. Freddy81

    Freddy81 Member

    #3
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 99
    Likes Received: 0
    Trophy Points: 33
    Yes, no one have came yet with the solution so we still find it.. you help if you can
     
  4. LazyDog

    LazyDog JF-Expert Member

    #4
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Apr 10, 2008
    Messages: 2,479
    Likes Received: 7
    Trophy Points: 135


    Tupatie maelezo zaidi.
    Nini kimeandikwa kabla na baada ya hiyo error?
     
  5. Who Cares?

    Who Cares? JF-Expert Member

    #5
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Jul 11, 2008
    Messages: 2,945
    Likes Received: 1,211
    Trophy Points: 280
    forget that...buy a new machine with a system already installed....how much will u sell to me that used dell optiplex 760?
     
  6. Freddy81

    Freddy81 Member

    #6
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 99
    Likes Received: 0
    Trophy Points: 33
    I am not using a used machine... it is brand new. It never used before
     
  7. Freddy81

    Freddy81 Member

    #7
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Feb 3, 2009
    Messages: 99
    Likes Received: 0
    Trophy Points: 33
    "Would you like mannualy select your driver or use a driver disk" Nimejaribu yote lakini imeshindikana
     
  8. LazyDog

    LazyDog JF-Expert Member

    #8
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Apr 10, 2008
    Messages: 2,479
    Likes Received: 7
    Trophy Points: 135

    Nadhani hiyo ni message inayotokea baada.
    Kabla ya error message uliyoitaja mwanzo kuna nini? CD-rom?
     
  9. LazyDog

    LazyDog JF-Expert Member

    #9
    May 8, 2009
    Joined: Apr 10, 2008
    Messages: 2,479
    Likes Received: 7
    Trophy Points: 135
    Kama ni CD-ROM au DVD-ROM, download driver (firmware) za hiyo device from the manufacturer's website na uweke kwenye floopy disk. Ikifika kwenye hiyo message, "Would you like to manually select your driver or use a driver disk?" sema YES baada ya kuweka hiyo disk kwenye diskatte drive.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  10. A

    August_Shao Senior Member

    #10
    May 28, 2009
    Joined: Nov 23, 2007
    Messages: 117
    Likes Received: 5
    Trophy Points: 35
  11. A

    August_Shao Senior Member

    #11
    May 28, 2009
    Joined: Nov 23, 2007
    Messages: 117
    Likes Received: 5
    Trophy Points: 35
    au nipigie kwenye +255 762 923711
     
  12. LazyDog

    LazyDog JF-Expert Member

    #12
    May 28, 2009
    Joined: Apr 10, 2008
    Messages: 2,479
    Likes Received: 7
    Trophy Points: 135
  13. emanuel.feruzi

    emanuel.feruzi Senior Member

    #13
    Jul 18, 2009
    Joined: Apr 25, 2009
    Messages: 103
    Likes Received: 3
    Trophy Points: 0
    I had the same issue when I bought my laptop. So there is a setting on the BIOS settings that had to be changed. Check on the SATA setting, something has to be disabled, so that Linux can read your HDDs.
     
Loading...