Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Hotuba ya Zitto Kabwe Ujerumani

Discussion in 'Jukwaa la Siasa' started by Invisible, Aug 26, 2009.

1. Invisible

Invisible Admin Staff Member

Aug 26, 2009
    TALKING NOTES FOR HON. KABWE ZUBERI ZITTO (MP) DURING A PUBLIC PANEL DISCUSSION ON THE GERMAN FEDERAL GOVERNMENT’S POLICY ON AFRICA – PROSPECTS AFTER THE ELECTIONS.

BERLIN, 26TH AUGUST 2009.

When I was asked by BPB staff to appear to this panel and discuss this topic I was not sure what would be able to contribute. I am not an expert on international politics, though I closely follow events and read widely on policies of various countries towards Africa in general and my country Tanzania in particular. However, I will try to share my thoughts on the subject and propose improvements where needed, from my own perspective.

Reading from the guidelines on Germany’s Africa Policy, the following features are clearly stipulated;

That Germany wants peace and security in Africa
    . This includes principles of democracy, rule of law, good governance and respect for human rights. We have observed Germany getting involved in Peace keeping missions in the D R of Congo (with the largest contingent ever – The BundesWehr) and recently support to Darfur. We have witnessed the role played by German Political Foundations in African countries in democratisation work (I for one am a product of one foundation i.e. FES through the now famous Youth Leadership Training Programme – YLTP). In Tanzania, the German government spends almost 4 million Euros a year on the work of political foundations.

That Germany wants Africa as an economic partner.