Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Hamad Rashid likely to go for new party, not cross over

Discussion in 'Jukwaa la Siasa' started by nngu007, Dec 17, 2011.

1. nngu007

nngu007 JF-Expert Member

Dec 17, 2011
    Published On: Sat, Dec 17th, 201

Published On: Sat, Dec 17th, 2011 Tanzania |

Wawi lawmaker Hamad Rashid Mohamed

Wawi lawmaker Hamad Rashid Mohamed has said if plots to fire him from the Civic United Front (CUF) succeed, he will go to court or set up another party.

Hamad, who is involved in a tag-of-war with the Civic United Front's secretary general, Seif Sharif Hamad said he does not contemplate to join another party.

"As I once remarked, I am not a political prostitute, and I shall continue to insist that I am not. I didn't leave Chama Cha Mapinduzi on my own wish. Me and Seif Sharif Hamad were sacked on May 13, 1988," he said.

He added: "I was highly persuaded to go back to the ruling party but I told them that they had fired me and we had already established another party. I also told them that I would remain in this new party until the last minute."

He said if CUF members would dismiss him, since they are the ones making the general council, he would only remain with two options.

Going to court is one, he said, adding that he would as well establish a new political party, but would not move to an already set up political grouping.

"If I resort to the latter choice, then I shall do so with new members. If we decide together we can do so, though I still believe that wisdom will prevail before reaching that stage," Hamad Rashid, once the leader of the opposition camp in Parliament said.

He said he received reports on Wednesday that CUF leaders were planning go to his constituency of Wawi, to tell the electorate that they want to use the party's branch procedures to sack him.