Dismiss Notice
You are browsing this site as a guest. It takes 2 minutes to CREATE AN ACCOUNT and less than 1 minute to LOGIN

Africa's uppity diaspora exposing it's shallow pretense

Discussion in 'Jokes/Utani + Udaku/Gossips' started by Kiranga, Jul 6, 2011.

1. Kiranga

Kiranga JF-Expert Member

Jul 6, 2011
    I thought this was funny in a special way, if you get the drift. Else you can easily be like "huh".

These guys from Africa in NYC apparently are so into distinguishing themselves as "Professional Africans". They even have this event "I Am a Professional African: Networking Mixer | AFTER WORK". "Networking Mixer", really? What is this, some secret pidgin English for some special "professional Africans"? Are they subtly bowing to "You gotta distinguish yourself from all those cabbies, booksellers and book vendors after all" ? .

Sounds almost like "I am a celebrity, get me out of here".

Apparently, our self proclaimed "professionals" do not know the difference between "professional Africans" and "African Professionals"

Have some humility ppl, and if you are going to tout yourself as a professional, have some bonafide professional proofread your poster.To make matters worse, they can't take criticism and would rather drop names of attendees (people you wouldn't know anyway) than say "yes bro, we goofed, English is not our language, we are faking this until we are making this, so be easy on our professionalism and proofreading - or lack of- tendencies".